skip to main content
2 FAQ tagged with timeout
Can I close or delete my account permanently or temporarily?
Yes; if you no longer want to be a part of the MeFi community you can close your own account. If you go to your profile page when you are logged in and click edit profile and scroll to the bottom you will see a link that says "Close Your Account" Clicking this will take you to an "are you sure?" page. If you confirm, your account will be closed and you will be unable to log in, post, comment or access MeFiMail. Your existing posts and comments will remain. If you change your mind at a later date and want to reactivate your account, an admin can do it for you.
(tags: account close timeout privacy ) November 25, 2007 - permalink - back to questions
What's up with banning? What does one see when they've been banned from MeFi?
Users who have been banned will not be able to log in to MetaFilter or access MeFiMail or their Recent Comments page. If they are already logged in, they will be unable to comment or post. There will be a small "this account has been disabled" notice on the user page of banned users.
If a user is already logged in, they will not be able to post or comment on the site. Banning is usually temporary, but sometimes permanent. Giving someone a "timeout" means their account has been banned for a short time.
Banworthy offenses include self-linking on MeFi, spamming the site with promotional links, abusing the site with excessive trolling comments or nonsense, excessive jokiness or snarkiness in AskMe, or over-the-top harassment or "outing" personal information of other users. Short term bans or timeouts automatically expire after a given amount of time.
(tags: banning bannination timeout banhammer privacy ) March 6, 2006 - permalink - back to questions